We were so young when we made the plan
A youthful wish without a dime
I promised you with all I can
Whatever mountains I must climb
I’d find your treasure in the grime
And though I fell down the steep slope
Our future stretched in mists of time
Distant dreams held in silent hope

So a journey through time began
I broke the rules, committed the crime
Until you found another man
Alone I heard your wedding chime
And I knew I was out of time
And left our town to help me cope
To reach the stars I now must climb
Distant dreams held in silent hope

I did my thing as best I can
And lost the pain in depths of time
But I never forgot the plan
Like a childhood nursery rhyme
In my head I could hear it chime
Entwined around me like a rope
That leads the heart to the sublime
Distant dreams held in silent hope

And now I hear you tell one-time
You knew the guy who saw the scope
Who took a chance so he could climb
Distant dreams held in silent hope

©JG Farmer 2015

Form: Ballade

