Awareness Awakens

As eyes closed to sleep
his voice spoke in dreams
echoes of daylight thoughts
dismissed into subconsciousness
yet in dreams he keeps telling me
I am he
he is me
and as I awake to the newborn day
the mirror reflects confusion
tormented by self hate
aware yet unable to reach out
I am he
he is me
looking in the glass
the mind asks the question
always that question
who are you?
I am he
he is me
another streak of Revlon black
falls slowly down my cheek
no make-up can mask
the truth with the soul
I am he
he is me

 

© JG Farmer 2017
Form: Free Verse

Leave a Reply

