The Four Seasons – Autumn by Antonio Vivaldi

Antonio Vivaldi


Title: The Four Seasons – Autumn
Date: 1723
Composer: Antonio Vivaldi
Movement: Baroque
1678 – 1741

Antonio Lucio Vivaldi was a composer, virtuoso violinist, teacher and cleric. He is recognised as one of the greatest Baroque composers, and within his lifetime his influence was widespread across Europe. He composed numerous concertos for the violin and other instruments, sacred choral works and over forty operas. Many of his compositions were written for the all-female music ensemble of the Ospedale della Pietà where he was employed as a Catholic priest from 1703 to 1715 and 1723 to 1740. After meeting Emperor Charles VI, Vivaldi had hoped for a preferment, but the emperor died shortly after Vivaldi’s arrival. He died in poverty less than a year later.

The Four Seasons is a group of four violin concerti, each giving a musical expression to a season of the year. The inspiration for the concerti is most likely to have come from the rural area of Mantua where the composer was living. They were a revolution in musical conception with representations of flowing creeks, birdsong and daily life in the countryside at the time.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s