The Lark Ascending by Vaughan Williams

Title: The Lark Ascending
Date: 1914

The Lark Ascending is a short, single-movement work by Vaughan Williams, inspired by the 1881 poem of the same name by George Meredith. Originally for violin and piano it was completed in 1914 but did not premier until 1910. Williams reworked it for solo violin and orchestra after World War One.

Composer: Vaughan Williams
Born: 12 October 1872, Gloucestershire, England
Died: 26 August 1958, London, England

Ralph Vaughan Williams was a composer. His works include ballets, operas, chamber music, secular and religious vocals and orchestral compositions including nine symphonies. Strongly influenced by Tudor music and English folksongs his work marked a decisive break in British music from it German-dominated style of the 19th century. Williams died in London and his ashes interred in Westminster Abbey, London, UK

Vaughan Williams

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s