Air on the G String by Johann Sebastian Bach

Title: Air on G String
Date: 1731
Era: Baroque

Air on a G String is an arrangement of the second movement of Bach’s Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D major by August Wilhelm. It differs from the original in that the first violins’ part is transposed down so that it can be played entirely on a violin’s G string and is played by a single violin. Bach composed the ‘Air’ on four staves for solo violin, violins, violas, and continuo giving interweaving lines of melody on the high strings contrasting with the rhythmic drive in the bass and is one of the most famous pieces of Baroque music.

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
Born: 31 March 1685, Eisenach, Germany
Nationality: German
Died: 28 July, 1750, Leipzig, Germany

Johann Sebastian Bach was a composer and musician of the Baroque era. Best known for his instrumental compositions such as the Brandenburg Concertos and for vocal music such as St Matthew Passion. Since a Bach revival in the 19th century he has been regarded as one of the greatest composers of all time.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s