Violin Sonata in D minor by Arcangelo Corelli

Title: Violin Sonata in D minor
Date: 1700
Era: Baroque

Corelli’s set of twelve Violin Sonatas published in 1700 are dedicated to the Electress Sophia of Brandenburg and were a landmark in the history of violin playing

Composer: Arcangelo Corelli
Born: 17 February 1653, Fusignano, Italy
Nationality: Italian
Died: 8 January 1713, Rome, Italy

Corelli was a violinist and composer of the Baroque era. His music was significant in the development of the modern genres of sonata and concerto as well as the rise in the pre-eminence of the violin and the coalescing of the instruments tonality and functional harmony.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s