Violin Concerto by Ludwig van Beethoven

Title: Violin Concerto
Date: 1806
Era: Classical

Beethoven composed the Violin Concerto in D Major in 1806 although its first performances were not successful and the work was hidden in obscurity for some decades until in 1844 it was revived by Joseph Joachim and has become one of the best-known violin concertos.

Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
Born: December 1770, Bonn, Germany
Nationality: German
Died: 26 March 1827, Vienna, Austria

Beethoven was a composer and pianist. He was a crucial figure in the transition between the classical and romantic eras in classical music, and arguably one of the greatest composers of all time. Born in Bonn, the capital of the Electorate of Cologne which was part of the Holy Roman Empire Beethoven’s talent for music was obvious from an early age. At 21 he moved to Vienna where he gained a reputation as a virtuoso pianist. By 1811 he was almost completely deaf and he gave up performing and appearing in public

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s