Quiet City by Aaron Copland

Quiet City

Aaron Copland
Born: 14 November 1900, New York, USA
Nationality: American
Died: 2 December 1990, New York, USA

Copland was a composer, writer, composition teacher and conductor. The open, slowly changing harmonies of his music evoke vast landscapes and the pioneer spirit of America. Best known for his vernacular style of the 1930s and 1940s including the ballets Appalachian Spring, Billy the Kid, and Rodeo, and Fanfare for the Common Man and his Third Symphony he also composed many other genres including chamber music, opera and vocal works, and film scores.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s