A Midsummer’s Night Dream by Felix Mendelssohn

A Midsummer’s Night Dream

Felix Mendelssohn
Born: 3 February 1809, Hamburg, Germany
Nationality: German
Died: 4 November 1847, Leipzig, Germany

Mendelssohn was a composer, pianist, organist, and conductor of the Romantic period. His compositions include concertos, symphonies, piano music, organ music, and chamber music. Among his best-known works are the overture and incidental music for A Midsummer’ Night Dream, the Scottish Symphony, The French Symphony, the oratorios Elijah and St. Paul, and the overture The Hebrides. He also composed the melody for the Christmas carol Hark! The Herald Angels Sing. He was born into a prominent Jewish family but was raised without religion until seven years old, when he was baptised as a Reformed Christian. Recognised at an early age for his musical talent, his parents were cautious and did not capitalise on his abilities

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s