Philippine Sonnet Notes

Created by: Jose Rizal M. Reyes

Philippine Sonnet 1
Structure: Three quatrains and a couplet
Meter: Decasyllabic or pentameter
Rhyme Scheme: aaaa bbbb aaaa cc

Example

Whisper to the Trees by Jez Farmer

The late autumn sun kissed the forest floor
And glistened between fallen leaves and spore
The vibrant colours of woodland décor
Perfect beauty no man could ask for more.
But in the damp leaves he took to his knees
And whispered his words on pine scented breeze
Arcane words to bring him a sense of ease
Amid the wisdom held by ancient trees.
On his skin moistness of forest rapport
Embracing his prayer as they did before
Mother Nature’s love gives all and still more
For she is the power within his core
When in prayer she hears what his heart ignores.
Before winter she sends her beauty here
To hold him closer and dispel his fear

Philippine Sonnet 2
Structure: Three quatrains and a couplet
Meter: Decasyllabic or pentameter
Rhyme Scheme: aaaa bbbb cccc bb

Example

Sea Dreams by Jez Farmer

Last night I fell asleep upon the shore
My dreams with the stars thus begin to soar
For as I sleep I am with you once more
And once again with love my heart can roar
So like the waves against the rolling sand
Once more I feel your hand within my hand
My guiding light within my dreamy land
But this is not how we had it all planned
With you so far away, yet always near
When I’m awake my eyes can’t see you clear
Yet when I sleep my heart begins to cheer
For in our love there is nothing to fear
And it’s on this beach where we loved in sand
Just you and me, the blue sea kissing land

One thought on “Philippine Sonnet Notes

Comments are closed.